Cartoons and dress code!

 

In an earlier post “My Friend and Her Cartoon Life!” I have talked about one of my friends who was so much cartoon addicted that all the time wore dresses like cartoon princess. This post is about the dress up of the characters of the cartoon.

We have some cartoons where animal are the leading characters and most of the time they are half naked. The big examples are Donald Duck, and Pooh. I have read about a rumor in a newspaper a few years ago that Donald Duck was banned in Finland because of its dress code/ or short dress.  Isn’t it interesting?

This is the only examples of those cartoons which are fables means main characters are animals, but what about the others, where characters are based on human?

Now I’m writing about male characters. Batman, Superman, Robin, Phantom …..who else don’t have the weird dress up?  The common thing about their super hero costume is almost everyone has the same dress pattern—underwear is out of their pants! These are our super heroes and we are mad for them!! Not only this, their suits are also very popular and demandable in costume parties!!!

Let’s move to our female heroes. We have lots of heroines whose dress up are very excited. Among them the Wonder Woman, Winx Club’s fairies, Hawkgirl are the worst. They are almost naked.

These cartoons are not adult cartoons. They are for our kids to encourage them to not fear the enemies and teach them how to handle the difficult situation with braveness and courage. So, if the cartoons are for kids, why their dress has designed like this? This is not the current occurrence, it has been happening from the last few decades. My question is; are we provoking our kids to watch bad things?  

Source:

Explore posts in the same categories: Cartoon Craze!, Experience, Social Awareness!

10 Comments on “Cartoons and dress code!”

  1. farzanamithila Says:

    As you have posted a biiiiiiiiiiiig post i will read it later. ok? 😉
    However, I know this time also you have done a great job. So, keep it up.
    Frazana

  2. zishrat Says:

    Farzana

    Its not my fault, its the theme that is narrow and the font size is big. So, everyone thinks that I write biiiiig posts always. I think I have to change the theme. What do you think?

    By the way thanks for the comment. 🙂

    Zishrat

  3. stellina Says:

    I think there is worse in the world for kids to get bad example from and i do not think that the little marmaid could have been designed and dressed in a different way rather than that as she is a marmaid!!!! so plese i would concentrate to something else, and please leave winx club alone…

  4. zishrat Says:

    I understand what you are saying Stellina. I am removing the little mermaid from the list. However, I have seen many kids who “watched” it for its dress. The dress up of the mermaid is not acceptable in many countries of the world, but in some its natural or culture.
    And in term of the winx club, I don’t have anything to say. I know its a popular cartoon and I used to watch that too, but its also true that it had an affect on some kids. Though its a teenager cartoon, kids are also watching it.
    I agree that there are many things, from which kids can learn bad things, but some cartoon characters’ dress can influece kids badly. I just want to bring up that issuse. In my blog, I am writing how cartoons can influence kids and what are the impacts of watching cartoons too much. I have never said that cartoons are bad. My last post showed how cartoons can help to develope creativity.

    Zishrat

  5. meta Says:

    Your blog about the dress is a great idea to point out. Me too, I wander why super heroes and heroines never dress up properly? What makes the directors draw like those?

  6. farzanamithila Says:

    I read your post. 😀
    It’s really nice. I also sometimes think like that.

  7. zishrat Says:

    thanks Meta and Farzana for your comments.

    zishrat

  8. Svetlana Says:

    “Let’s move to our female heroes. We have lots of heroines whose dress up are very excited. Among them the Wonder Woman, Winx Club’s fairies, Hawkgirl are the worst. They are almost naked.

    These cartoons are not adult cartoons. They are for our kids to encourage them to not fear the enemies and teach them how to handle the difficult situation with braveness and courage. So, if the cartoons are for kids, why their dress has designed like this? This is not the current occurrence, it has been happening from the last few decades. My question is; are we provoking our kids to watch bad things? ”

    Well I tell you why, because there is nothing wrong with nudity, you see, when kids grow up they have no concept of nudity being wrong. Its the adult perverse mind that teaches kids nudity is wrong. Its the adult that says what is acceptable nudity and what is not. And for some reason its ok for a man to show his nipples but for a woman it is a no no! THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH NUDITY ITS NATURAL. Sex the kids maybe too young to understand, but nudity and sex are two different things.

  9. zishrat Says:

    People with different perspectives.

  10. selena Says:

    hi winx club


Leave a Reply

